2016 News

New SCAR Executive Committee

5 September 2016:

At the SCAR Delegates Meeting held in Malaysia from 29-30 August, a new President and Vice President were elected to the Executive Committee.  Outgoing President, Prof Jerónimo López-Martínez of the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, will remain on the Executive Committee as Past President for two years.  Prof Bryan Storey, director of Gateway Antarctica in New Zealand, departs after four years as Vice President for Finance, during which time he was also responsible for hosting the very successful XXXIII SCAR open science conference and meetings held in Auckland in 2014. We would like to take this opportunity to thank Jerónimo and Bryan for their dedication and service to SCAR over the past four years.

Steven ChownProf Steven Chown has been elected for a four-year term as SCAR President. Steven has a long history of involvement with SCAR. Currently head of the School of Biological Sciences at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, he was previously director of the Centre for Invasion Biology at Stellenbosch University, South Africa and served as South African delegate for a number of years. In the past, he was secretary of SCAR’s Working Group on Biology, and subsequently Chief Officer of the Life Sciences Standing Scientific Group. But it was perhaps in his role as Chief Officer of SCAR’s Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System (SCATS) that he made his greatest contribution to SCAR’s work to date, combining his scientific research with policy advice to the Antarctic Treaty System. Much of his work has been on conservation and the risks to Antarctica from human activities and climate change, in particular the threats to Antarctic biodiversity from invasive species. An outstanding scientist and communicator, he was the first recipient of the prestigious Tinker-Muse Prize for Science and Policy in Antarctica in 2009.

Two Vice Presidential posts were also up for election. Prof Dr Karin Lochte, director of the Alfred Wegener Institute in Germany, was re-elected for a second term and will remain as Vice President responsible for Capacity Building, Education and Training (CBET). Karin is an oceanographer, researcher and climate change specialist and currently the Director of the Alfred Wegener Institute.

Replacing Bryan Storey as Vice President is Prof Jefferson Simões, a glaciologist based at the Institute of Geosciences, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS) in Brazil. He founded the Polar Research Centre at UFRGS and is director of the Brazilian National Institute for Cryospheric Sciences. He has participated in numerous scientific expeditions to both poles and is one of the scientific leaders of the Brazilian Antarctic programme

Terry Wilson, Ohio State University, and Azizan Abu Samah, University of Malaya, are also members of the SCAR Executive Committee currently starting the third year of their four-year terms.

Jefferson Simoes Karin Lochte Terry Wilson Azizan Abu Samah Jeronimo Lopez Jenny Baeseman Bryan Storey

Jefferson Simões
Incoming Vice President for Finance

Karin Lochte
Re-elected Vice President for CBET

Terry Wilson
Vice President for Administration

Azizan Abu Samah
Vice President for Science

Jerónimo López-Martínez
Immediate Past President

Jenny Baeseman
Executive Director

Bryan Storey
Outgoing Vice President for Finance