buy zolpidem online without prescriptionbuy ambien online without prescriptionsoma online pharmacybuy alprazolam onlinetramadol for salebuy ultram onlinebuy phentermine without prescriptionvalium online pharmacydiazepam online without prescriptionadipex online no prescriptionbuy klonopin no prescriptionbuy xanax online without prescriptionbuy provigil online without prescriptionativan for sale

Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System

SCAR is an official Observer to the Antarctic Treaty and has provided independent, objective scientific advice in a variety of fields, particularly on environmental and conservation matters.  The Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System (SCATS) is the body tasked with developing SCAR’s scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM) and its Committee on Environmental Protection (CEP), the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR), the Convention for the Conservation of Antarctic Seals (CCAS), and the Advisory Committee to the Agreement on the Conservation of Albatrosses and Petrels (ACAP). 

SCAR’s role in the ATCM and CEP includes provision of Working Papers and Information Papers on:

  • Emerging policy-relevant issues;
  • Reviews of the state of knowledge; and
  • Scientific and technical advice. 

SCAR also provides a yearly Lecture on science topics SCAR believes will be of most interest to the Treaty Parties.

In September 2013, a workshop was convened jointly by SCAR and COMNAP to identify responses to conservation challenges in Antarctica.  The outcomes of the workshop are being used to inform the drafting of an Antarctic Conservation Strategy.  An information paper on progress was presented to the XXXVII ATCM in 2014 (see IP011 on the ATCM 37 Papers page). 

Members of the Standing Committee on the Antarctic Treaty System:

Dr Aleks Terauds (Australia) - Chief Officer Aleks.Terauds[at]
Dr Kevin Hughes (UK) - Deputy Chief Officer kehu[at]
Dr Thomas Bracegirdle - SSG-PS Representative tjbra[at]
Prof Steven Chown (Australia) steven.chown[at]
Dr Mark Hindell (Australia) - SCAR-CCAMLR Liaison Mark.Hindell[at]
Dr Daniela Liggett (New Zealand) daniela.liggett[at]
Prof Jerónimo López-Martínez (Spain) jeronimo.lopez[at]
Dr Phil O'Brien (Australia) - SSG-GS Representative phil.obrien.ant[at]
Dr Yan Ropert-Coudert (France) - SSG-LS Representative docyaounde[at]
Dr Akinori Takahashi (Japan) atak[at]
Dr Jenny Baeseman (Secretariat) jbaeseman[at]