SCAR Fellowship Scheme

The SCAR Fellowship Programme is designed to encourage the active involvement of early career scientists and engineers in Antarctic scientific research, and to build new connections and further strengthen international capacity and cooperation in Antarctic research.

The programme was initiated in 2002 when SCAR received the Prince of Asturias Award.  The (USD) $50,000 award paid for five fellowships in 2003.  Since 2005, the SCAR Fellowship Scheme has been developed, sustained by contributions from SCAR Members and from other sources of revenue as they become available.  In 2013, SCAR was awarded the Prix Biodiversité of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation.  From 2015, a Prince Albert II of Monaco Fellowship is awarded annually, initially financed by the €40,000 received as part of the prize.

The SCAR Fellowship Programme is for PhD students, or those within five years of having completed a PhD, to undertake research at major international laboratories, field facilities, and/or institutes in or operated by SCAR member countries, so as to become acquainted with recent advances in research and/or to develop long-term scientific links and partnerships. The work must be carried out in a research group of a SCAR member country different from that of the applicant's origin and current residence.

Fellowships are awarded purely on the selection criteria for competitive selection, which are clearly stated in the Evaluation section on the Detailed Information page.

Some analysis was made of demographic data for applications to the scheme from 2005 to 2013.  The resulting graphs are available on the archived website.