space banner6

Community News

1 apecs logoThe Association of Polar Early Career Scientists (APECS) has recently announced its APECS Executive Committee for 2017-2018:

Jilda Caccavo (University of Padua, Italy)
Jean Holloway (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Hanne Nielsen (University of Tasmania, Australia)
Gabriela Roldán (University of Canterbury, New Zealand)
Alex Thornton (University of Alaska Fairbanks, United States)

Hanne Nielsen will be the new APECS President for 2017-2018 and commented:

Hanne Neilsen SCAR Fellow 2017“It is an honour to be elected as APECS President for 2017/18. I'm looking forward to putting Antarctic research in the spotlight over the coming year, and to guiding APECS over the course of the term. We have some exciting events coming up, including the APECS World Summit, to be held prior to the POLAR2018 conference. Capacity building is a key focus of APECS, and we will continue working with partners to create new opportunities for early-career researchers, and to support ECRs in developing the skills needed to become leaders in their fields. I hope to continue working closely with SCAR to realise shared goals over the coming year and beyond.”

SCAR looks forward to working closely with the new APECS Executive Committee and notes the existing ties with Jilda Caccavo being a 2016 SCAR Fellow, Hanne Nielsen is a 2017 SCAR Fellow and SCAR CBET Committee member, Alex Thornton is also a SCAR CBET Committee member, and Gabriela Roldan is the 2017 COMNAP Fellow.

load more hold SHIFT key to load all load all