space banner6

Community News

ATS logoMr Albert Lluberas from Uruguay succeeds Dr Manfred Reinke (Germany) as Executive Secretary of the Antarctic Treaty Secretariat for an initial four-year term. Mr Lluberas was appointed by Decision 6 (2017) of the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting (ATCM), adopted by consensus by the 29 Consultative Parties to the Antarctic Treaty during the meeting in Beijing, China.

Before joining the Secretariat, Mr Lluberas was a National Representative with participation in the Antarctic Treaty system and its organisations, including as Uruguayan delegate to the ATCM and the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR). He performed duties as Secretary General at the Uruguayan Antarctic programme and managed operations, personnel and resources, and also oversaw the development of national policies and standards.

After a meeting with the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Argentina, Chancellor Jorge Faurie, the Argentine Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Guillermo Raimondi, hosted an official reception to wish Dr Reinke well and to welcome Mr Lluberas. Representatives of the Consultative Parties attended the event, which took place on 16 August at the Palacio San Martín in Buenos Aires.

Original Source: Antarctic Treaty Secretariat website.

load more hold SHIFT key to load all load all