sunset banner3

Science Menu

Standing Committee on the Humanities and Social Sciences (SC-HASS)

Congratulations to ‪HASSEG‬ chairs Dr Daniela Liggett and Dr Elizabeth Leane, and former chair Dr Juan Francisco Salazar, who are part of an international team awarded a substantial grant from the Australian Research Council for a three year project around rebranding of ‪Antarctic‬ ‪Gateway‬ cities. The project will look at the Antarctic Gateway cities of Hobart, Christchurch and Punta Arenas:

New South Wales

Associate Professor Juan Salazar; Professor Paul James: Associate Professor Elizabeth Leane; Dr Liam Magee; Mr Tim Short; Dr Daniela Liggett; Mr Elias Barticevic, Professor Dr Claudia Estrada Goic

Antarctic cities and the global commons; Rethinking the gateways.
This project aims to investigate how the Antarctic gateway cities of Hobart, Christchurch and Punta Arenas might remain and intensify their relations to the continent and each other. As pressures on Antarctica increase, five 'gateway cities' - Hobart, Cape Town, Christchurch, Punta Arenas and Ushuaia - will become critical to its future. This research is expected to create a robust custodial network of partner organisations that helps these cities care for Antarctica.

Hobart City Council; Department of State Growth; University of Canterbury, Christchurch; Christchurch City Council; Chilean Antarctic Institute; University of Magallanes

load more hold SHIFT key to load all load all