critter banner18

Science Menu

SCAR Krill Expert Group (SKEG)

7 to 11 March 2022 (Virtual)
16:00-18:00 CEST

Krill fishing LTadday webThe SCAR Krill Action Group (SKAG) invites all members to its annual SKAG meeting in 2022, with updates on SKAG and its previous initiatives and associated groups, talks from members, themed discussions, and election of board members. The meeting will start with updates from MEASO, ICED, CCAMLR, and a new group, the Science and Industry Forum (SIF). The following two days will feature sessions on using new instruments and techniques (e.g. gliders) along with fishing vessels for data collection, and discussions on ways in which the krill community can use these research platforms to close knowledge gaps. We will then hear talks from SKAG Early-Career Researchers. Discussions will aim to identify ways to improve scientific inputs into CCAMLR and develop cooperation with SIF. Members will also discuss SKAG organization and the confirmation of new board members.

CALL for session talks: If you would like to a give a talk at the workshop, we have two sessions. In the first session we would like to hear from groups that have worked on fishing vessels or used data from them. The second session highlights groups using novel methods or instruments (e.g. gliders) that could be used or implemented using fishing vessels.

CALL for Early-Career Researcher talks: We would love to hear from ECRs. Talks can be on any krill-related topic. This is a great way to introduce yourself to your colleagues in the krill community. We look forward to hearing about your work!

Please submit a title, short abstract, and the heading under which you would like to give your talk by February 15th to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

From the SKAG Committee:
Bettina Meyer - Chair
So Kawaguchi - Vice Chair
Angus Atkinson - Scientific Coordinator
Simeon Hill - Scientific Coordinator
Ryan Driscoll - Communications Officer
Javier Arata- Fishing Industry Coordinator
Jack Conroy- ECR Representative
Zephyr Sylvester- ECR Representative